Dear students,

Welcome to the website of the Department of Agriculture of the University of Western Macedonia. Here you can find information on the academic staff, facilities, and undergraduate and postgraduate courses.

The Department of Agriculture of the University of Western Macedonia (UoWM) was established in Florina in 2019 under Law 4610/2019 “Synergies of Universities and Technological Educational Institutions” (Government Gazette 70, issue A’ 07/05/2019) and welcomed its first students in September 2019.

In 2023, after a continuous and thorough evaluation, the undergraduate study program of the Department of Agriculture was certified by the Hellenic Authority for Higher Education (H.A.H.E) as excellent (Fully Compliant).

The Department of Agriculture is based in Florina, is part of the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences and implements a modern curriculum which aims to offer students a high-level agricultural education, to produce innovative knowledge and expertise through basic and applied research, but also to transfer the generated knowledge for the benefit of society at local, national and international level.

Our graduates, as future scientists of agricultural science and with full professional rights to practice the profession of Agronomist, can contribute to:

  1. The continuous technological upgrading and modernization of agricultural and livestock farms and businesses in the agri-food sector.
  2. The development and implementation of innovations in production, organization and distribution processes, utilizing the comparative advantages of Greek agricultural and livestock products.
  3. The enhancement of the agricultural sector towards sustainable development, minimization of the adverse effects of climate change, utilization of plant and animal genetic resources, preservation of biodiversity, welfare of productive animals and improvement of the quality of produced agricultural products.
  4. The development of rural area through the optimal utilization of the tools of the rural and regional policy.

The study program has a duration of 10 semesters, leading to the 7th level of EQF and a degree with the recognition of a post-graduate title (Integrated Master), of which the first six semesters include courses of a general as well as a special background in agricultural science, are common to all students and constitute the core of the curriculum. In the 7th semester, students choose one of the offered study directions, lasting 4 semesters, in which specialty courses are taught, depending on the specific field of knowledge of each direction. The offered directions of study are:

1) Plant Production 2) Animal Production and 3) Agricultural Economics.

Academic staff members conduct significant research in a wide range of disciplinary fields, through the development of networks and collaborations with other HEIs in Greece and abroad, public services and agencies as well as private enterprises. The Department of Agriculture is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities providing students an academic environment that promotes learning and research, as well as enabling them to develop their scientific interests in modern fields of the Agricultural Science.

I wish you a pleasant browsing,

The Dean of the School of Agricultural Sciences
Fokion Papathanasiou

Scroll to Top